Contact & People

Whether you are a new or returning student, faculty member, research partner or community organization, we want to hear from you.

Faculty of Management
Okanagan Campus
EME4145 – 1137 Alumni Ave
Kelowna, BC Canada
V1V 1V7

Reception:

Tel 250.807.9462
Fax 250.807.8533
Email fom.reception@ubc.ca

Academic Programs Office:

Bachelor of Management: fom.bmgt@ubc.ca

Post-Experience Master of Management: postexperience.mm@ubc.ca

Dual Degree Master of Management: dualdegree.mm@ubc.ca

Faculty of Management Directory


Role:
Departments:
Search Keyword:

Amin Ahmadi Digehsara | Postdoctoral Research Fellow | Faculty of Management | amin.ahmadidigehsara@ubc.ca | EME 4161
Research Interests: Network Optimization, Public transportation planning, Optimization under Uncertainty, Operational research methodologies
Amir Ardestani-Jaafari | Assistant Professor | Faculty of Management | amir.ardestani@ubc.ca | 250.807.8108 | EME 4111

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Healthcare Operations, Supply Chain, Business Analytics
Kim Buschert (On Leave) | Faculty of Management Librarian | Faculty of Management, Library Services | kim.buschert@ubc.ca
Courses & Teaching: Subject librarian for: Management, Psychology. On leave for 2024. For assistance with Management, contact M.J. D'Elia For assistance with Psychology, contact Marjorie Mitchell
Mike Chiasson | Professor | Faculty of Management | mike.chiasson@ubc.ca | 250.807.8248 | EME 4103
Joanna Cockerline, MA | Lecturer | English, English and Cultural Studies, Faculty of Management | joanna.cockerline@ubc.ca | 250.807.8273 | CCS 332
Research Interests: Management communications; Science and engineering communications; Interdisciplinary and intercultural communications; Creative writing; Contemporary Canadian fiction and memoir; Contemporary East African writing and cultural productions; Intersectional feminisms; Survivor narratives; and Writing that inspires social change.
Courses & Teaching: ENGL 112 Studies in Composition; MGMT 240 Introduction to Management Communications; CORH 321 Personal and Professional Identity and Interpersonal Communication
Adrienne Cook (On Leave) | Faculty Programs Assistant | Faculty of Management | adrienne.cook@ubc.ca | EME 4157
Allyssa Costerton-Grant, MM, BAPC | Associate Director, Industry Partnerships & Alumni Development | Faculty of Management | allyssa.costerton-grant@ubc.ca | EME 4157
Keith Culver | Senior Associate Dean; Professor; Director, UBC STAR | Faculty of Management, Survive and Thrive Applied Research (STAR) | keith.culver@ubc.ca | 250.807.9875 | EME 4153
Paul G Davies | Professor | Psychology | paul.g.davies@ubc.ca | FIP326

Graduate student supervisor. Not considering Psychology graduate students for September 2024 intake.


Research Interests: Intergroup relations; stereotypes; prejudice; discrimination; diverse forms of social identity threat; perceived stereotypicality; levels of prejudice and discrimination that target stigmatized individuals.
Courses & Teaching: Introductory psychology; social psychology; intergroup relations.
Jennifer Davis | Associate Professor | Faculty of Management | jennifer.davis@ubc.ca | 250.807.9507 | EME 4123

Graduate student supervisor


Courses & Teaching: Undergraduate Courses: Topic coverage includes operations management, health economics, clinically applied economic evaluation, multiple imputation of missing data, research methods, and biostatistics. Graduate Courses: Topics taught include epidemiological methods (led problem-based learning groups), research methods in rehabilitation: taught multiple imputation of missing data, conducting systematic reviews and instructor for a web-based course – Quality of Life Program: A CIHR Training Program in Rehabilitation Research.
Tamara Ebl, CPA,CA | Lecturer | Faculty of Management | tamara.ebl@ubc.ca | 250.807.9221 | EME 4127
Courses & Teaching: UNDERGRADUATE COURSES: MGMT 201 / 301 Introduction to Financial Accounting MGMT 202 / 302 Introduction to Managerial Accounting MGMT 330 Introduction to Organizational Behaviour MGMT 360 Business Conditions Analysis MGMT 401 Intermediate Managerial Accounting MGMT 403 Auditing and Assurance Services MGMT 405 Advanced Managerial Accounting MGMT 419H Special Topics in Management: Corporate Governance GRADUATE COURSES: MGMT 531 Leadership
Annette Fairweather | Lecturer | Faculty of Management | afairwea@mail.ubc.ca | 250.807.9462 | EME 4101/4161
Grace Fan | Assistant Professor | Faculty of Management | grace.fan@ubc.ca | 250.807.9717 | EME 4131

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Inequality; Environmental sustainability; Two-Eyed Seeing; Indigenous worldviews; Indigenous knowledges; Feminist care ethics; Emotions and institutions; Social-symbolic work; Institutional change; Institutional logics; Community-based participatory research methods; Ethnography; Process research; Qualitative methods
Russ Fields | Adjunct Professor | Faculty of Management | russ.fields@ubc.ca | 250.807.9462 | EME 4159
Sarah Gumpinger | Lecturer | Faculty of Management | sarah.gumpinger@ubc.ca | EME 4149
Dustin Gumpinger | Lecturer | Faculty of Management | dustin.gumpinger@ubc.ca | EME 4149
Dayl Hancock | Manager, Academic Programs | Faculty of Management | dayl.hancock@ubc.ca | 250.807.9167 | EME 4157
Ross Hickey | Associate Professor | Economics, Faculty of Management | ross.hickey@ubc.ca | 250.807.8653
Research Interests: Public finance and political economy; fiscal policy (government expenditure and taxation) and how it is influenced by interactions within a hierarchy of governments (municipal, provincial and federal); elections; lobbying activity.
Courses & Teaching: Public finance; empirical economics; macroeconomics
Sandy Hilton | Dean pro tem | Faculty of Management | sandy.hilton@ubc.ca | 250.807.8254 | EME 4145B
Matt Husain | Sessional Lecturer | Faculty of Management | matt.husain@ubc.ca
Annamma Joy | Professor | Faculty of Management | annamma.joy@ubc.ca | 250.807.8606 | EME 4129

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Sustainability in Art, Fashion, and Wine; Wine Tourism, Artification Process; Luxury Brand Marketing and Management; Gender, Levinas and the Ethics of recognition.
Courses & Teaching: Undergraduate Courses: MGMT 440 Brands, Culture and Marketing MGMT 442 Consumer Behavior MGMT 441-Marketing Strategy MGMT 220-Introductory marketing Graduate Courses: Brand Management (Ph.D.) Consumer Culture Theory (Ph.D.)
Andrea Klassen | Academic Advisor – Faculty of Management Specialist | Faculty of Management | andrea.klassen@ubc.ca | 250.807.8566 | UNC 2071
Imrana Latif | Dean's Office Assistant | Faculty of Management | ilatif@mail.ubc.ca | EME 4145
Kelli Lethbridge | Academic Programs Coordinator | Faculty of Management | kelli.lethbridge@ubc.ca | EME 4145A
Eric Li, PhD | Associate Professor | Faculty of Management, Institute for Community Engaged Research (ICER), Institute for Healthy Living and Chronic Disease Prevention (IHLCDP), Interdisciplinary Graduate Studies (IGS) | eric.li@ubc.ca | 250.807.8853 | EME 4125

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Consumer culture; Social Innovation and social enterprise, Healthy living and well-being; Food consumption and food security; Digital economy, Internet of Things (IoT) and Internet of People (IoP); Social media marketing and consumption, Ethical consumerism and prosocial behaviour, Corporate philanthropy, Fashion marketing and consumption.
Courses & Teaching: MGMT220/320 Introduction to Marketing (undergraduate-level) MGMT441 Marketing Strategy (undergraduate-level) MGMT444 Marketing Research (undergraduate-level) MGMT495 Directed Studies on Fashion Advertising (2012), Digital Consumption and Marketing (2013), Fashion and Cultural Heritage (2014), Family Identity and Consumption (2018) MGMT536B – Enterprise and Innovation (Marketing module) MGMT541 – Applied Research Methods MGMT544A – Applied Project IGS515 Qualitative Methods for Management Research (graduate-level) IGS520A Special Topics on Digital Marketing and Consumption (graduate-level) IGS524 Applied Research Methods (graduate-level)
Mandy Little | Co-op & Career Coordinator | Faculty of Management, Interdisciplinary Co-op Education | mandy.little@ubc.ca | 250.807.9623 | EME 2171
Barb Marcolin | Associate Professor | Faculty of Management | barb.marcolin@ubc.ca | 250.807.9637 | EME 4113

Graduate student supervisor


Courses & Teaching: Undergraduate Courses: MGMT 250 Introduction to IT Management MGMT 360 Business Conditions Analysis MGMT 425 Strategic Entrepreneurial Technology
Morgan Marshall (On Leave) | Associate Coordinator | Faculty of Management, Interdisciplinary Co-op Education | morgan.marshall@ubc.ca | 250.807.8243 | EME 2171
Jana Martin | Lecturer | Faculty of Management | jana.martin@ubc.ca | 250.807.9462 | EME 4101/4161
Christopher Martin | Director, Centre for Mindful Engagement | Education, Faculty of Management, Philosophy | christopher.martin@ubc.ca | 250.807.8427 | EME3159

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Philosophy of education; educational ethics; the aims of higher education; education for democracy
Courses & Teaching: Philosophical Inquiry in Education Controversial Issues in Education Conceptions of Teaching and Learning Policy and Education
Myles Mattila | Faculty Programs Assistant | Faculty of Management | myles.mattila@ubc.ca | 250.807.8678 | EME 4145
Cassandra McFarland | Communications and Events Specialist | Faculty of Management | cassandra.mcfarland@ubc.ca | EME 4147
Mike McGinty | Adjunct Professor | Faculty of Management | mike.mcginty@ubc.ca
Malida Mooken | Lecturer | Faculty of Management | malida.mooken@ubc.ca | 250.807.9462 | EME 4141
Nathan Pelletier | Associate Professor | Biology, Faculty of Management | nathan.pelletier@ubc.ca | 250.807.8245 | FIP 340

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Sustainability measurement and management; life cycle thinking; environmental and social life cycle assessment of food, feed and biomass supply chains; resource efficiency; social license and market access; trade-based externalization of environmental and social risk.
Courses & Teaching: Sustainable food systems; sustainability measurement and management; ecological economics.
Paul Pickard | Adjunct Professor | Faculty of Management | paul.pickard@ubc.ca | EME 4101
Monic Pratch | Sessional Lecturer | Faculty of Management | monic.pratch@ubc.ca | 250.807.9462 | EME 4101/4161
Courses & Teaching: MGMT 480 Law and Business
Darryl Reed (On Leave) | Professor | Faculty of Management | darryl.reed@ubc.ca
Cayla Reeve | Academic Programs Coordinator | Faculty of Management | cayla.reeve@ubc.ca | 4145A
Meghan Reid | Co-op & Career Coordinator | Faculty of Management, Interdisciplinary Co-op Education | meghan.reid@ubc.ca | 250.807.8235 | EME 2171
Adam Saifer | Assistant Professor | Faculty of Management | adam.saifer@ubc.ca | EME 4151
Research Interests: critical philanthropy studies; nonprofit organizations; sustainable community development; critical management studies; national identity; “the arts” and cultural production; racial capitalism; critical discourse analysis
Courses & Teaching: MGMT380 - Sustainability and Business
Stacey Sandison | Adjunct Professor | Faculty of Management | stacey.sandison@ubc.ca
Sumeet Sekhon | Research Manager | Faculty of Management | sumeet.sekhon@ubc.ca | EME 4145
Jamie Snow | Director, Interdisciplinary Co-op & Experiential Education | Faculty of Management | jamie.snow@ubc.ca | 250.807.9206 | EME 2173
Roger Sugden (On Leave) | Professor | Faculty of Management | roger.sugden@ubc.ca | EME 4145
Asfiya Taji | Postdoctoral Research Fellow | Faculty of Management | asfiya.taji@ubc.ca
Pranita Udas | Sessional Lecturer | Faculty of Management | pranita.udas@ubc.ca
Marcela Valania | Sessional Lecturer | Faculty of Management | marcela.valania@ubc.ca | EME 4141
Patrick Vanderburg | Operations and Faculty Assistant | Faculty of Management | patrick.vanderburg@ubc.ca | 250.807.8462 | EME 4145
David Walker, PhD | Assistant Professor (Tenure) | Faculty of Management | david.walker@ubc.ca | 250.807.9801 | EME 4105

Graduate student supervisor


Courses & Teaching: Undergraduate Courses: MGMT 230 Organizational Behaviour MGMT 411 Human Resource Management MGMT 419k Special Topics in Management – Service Human Resource Management Graduate Courses: MGMT 530 Organizational Behaviour MGMT 533 Human Resources
Norine Webster | Lecturer | Faculty of Management | norine.webster@ubc.ca | 250.807.8847 | EME 4109
Sheila Westwell | Lecturer | Faculty of Management | sheila.westwell@ubc.ca | 250.807.9462 | EME 4121
Nigel Whittaker | Adjunct Professor | Faculty of Management, Survive and Thrive Applied Research (STAR) | nigel.whittaker@ubc.ca
Ying Zhu, PhD (On Leave) | Associate Professor | Faculty of Management | ying.zhu@ubc.ca | 250.807.9836 | EME 4131

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Dr. Zhu’s primary research interests include digital marketing, branding, consumer behavior, business analytics, and social networks. She has two streams of research: 1) investigating the impact of technology on consumers and the antecedents and consequences of consumer use of technology (e.g., AI, Metaverse) and 2) examining the effectiveness of different marketing strategies (e.g., digital marketing, business networks) and the importance of branding (e.g., brand extension).
Courses & Teaching: Marketing Strategy Service Marketing Consumer Behavior Introduction to Business
Nikki Zwaagstra | Special Projects Administrator | Faculty of Management | nikki.zwaagstra@ubc.ca | EME 4147