Contact & People

Whether you are a new or returning student, faculty member, research partner or community organization, we want to hear from you.

Faculty of Management
Okanagan Campus
EME4145 – 1137 Alumni Ave
Kelowna, BC Canada
V1V 1V7Tel 250.807.9462
Fax 250.807.8533
Email fom.reception@ubc.ca

Faculty of Management Directory


Role:
Departments:
Search Keyword:

Amir Ardestani-Jaafari | Assistant Professor | Faculty of Management | amir.ardestani@ubc.ca | 250.807.8101 | EME 4111
Research Interests: Healthcare Operations, Logistics, Multi-stage Optimization under Uncertainty
Arjun (AJ) Bhardwaj | Assistant Professor | Faculty of Management | arjun.bhardwaj@ubc.ca | 250.807.8898 | EME 4107
Morgan Brummet | Faculty and Programs Administrative Assistant | Faculty of Management | morgan.brummet@ubc.ca | 250.807.8678 | EME 4145
Chris Brunet | Finance Manager | Faculty of Management | chris.brunet@ubc.ca | 250.807.8520 | EME4149
Kim Buschert | Faculty of Management Librarian | Faculty of Management, Library Services | kim.buschert@ubc.ca | 250.807.9331
Mary Butterfield | Senior Advisor - Research | Faculty of Management | mary.butterfield@ubc.ca | 250.807.8157 | EME 4139
Kristi Carter | Associate Director, Academic Programs | Faculty of Management | kristi.carter@ubc.ca | 250.807.9138 | EME 4139
Mike Chiasson | Professor | Faculty of Management | mike.chiasson@ubc.ca | 250.807.8248 | EME 4103
Jan Cioe | Associate Professor | Faculty of Management, Psychology | jan.cioe@ubc.ca | 250.807.8732 | ASC 285
Research Interests: Human sexuality; forensic psychology; recovery of function from cortical lesions.
Courses & Teaching: Research methods and statistics; forensic psychology; human sexuality.
Stephanie Clark | Co-op & Career Coordinator | Faculty of Management, Interdisciplinary Co-op Education | stephanie.clark@ubc.ca | 250.807.8117 | EME 4157
Joanna Cockerline | Lecturer | English and Cultural Studies, English, Faculty of Management | joanna.cockerline@ubc.ca | 250.807.8273 | CCS 332
Research Interests: Management communications; Science and engineering communications; Interdisciplinary and intercultural communications; Creative writing; Contemporary Canadian fiction and memoir; Contemporary East African writing and cultural productions; Intersectional feminisms; Survivor narratives; and Writing that inspires social change.
Courses & Teaching: ENGL 112 Studies in Composition MGMT 240 Introduction to Management Communications Program Leader: Go Global Tanzania (2019) and Go Global East Africa (2020) ENGL 395E “Beyond Borders: Strategies for Interdisciplinary, Intercultural Communications” ENGL 395F “Writing a Place, Writing a Self: Travel Writing, Representations of East Africa, and East African Literature and Cultural Production”
Patricia Corner | Professor | Faculty of Management | trish.corner@ubc.ca | 250.807.8583 | EME 4115
Keith Culver | Associate Dean, Regional Innovation Practice; Professor; Director, UBC STAR | Faculty of Management, Survive and Thrive Applied Research (STAR) | keith.culver@ubc.ca | 250.807.9875 | EME 4153
Paul G Davies | Professor | Faculty of Management, Psychology | paul.g.davies@ubc.ca | ART 322

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Not accepting graduate students for 2020-21. Intergroup relations; stereotypes; prejudice; discrimination; diverse forms of social identity threat; perceived stereotypicality; levels of prejudice and discrimination that target stigmatized individuals.
Courses & Teaching: Introductory psychology; social psychology; intergroup relations.
Jennifer Davis | Assistant Professor | Faculty of Management | jennifer.davis@ubc.ca | 250.807.9507 | EME 4123
Courses & Teaching: Undergraduate Courses: Topic coverage includes operations management, health economics, clinically applied economic evaluation, multiple imputation of missing data, research methods, and biostatistics. Graduate Courses: Topics taught include epidemiological methods (led problem-based learning groups), research methods in rehabilitation: taught multiple imputation of missing data, conducting systematic reviews and instructor for a web-based course – Quality of Life Program: A CIHR Training Program in Rehabilitation Research.
Lena Dombrosky (On Leave) | Reception & Administrative Assistant | Faculty of Management | lena.dombrosky@ubc.ca | 250.807.8869 | EME 4145
Margaret Doyle | Senior Content Strategist | Communications, Faculty of Management | margaret.doyle@ubc.ca | 250.807.8892 | EME4145
Tamara Ebl | Lecturer | Faculty of Management | tamara.ebl@ubc.ca | 250.807.9221 | EME 4127
Courses & Teaching: Undergraduate Courses MGMT 201 / 301 Introduction to Financial Accounting MGMT 202 / 302 Introduction to Managerial Accounting MGMT 330 Introduction to Organizational Behaviour MGMT 360 Business Conditions Analysis MGMT 401 Intermediate Managerial Accounting MGMT 403 Auditing and Assurance Services MGMT 405 Advanced Managerial Accounting MGMT 419H Special Topics in Management: Corporate Governance Graduate Courses: MGMT 531 Leadership
Annette Fairweather | Lecturer | Faculty of Management | afairwea@mail.ubc.ca | 250.807.9462 | EME 4101/4161
Grace Fan | Assistant Professor | Faculty of Management | grace.fan@ubc.ca | 250.807.9717 | EME 4119
Courses & Teaching: MGMT 450 Entrepreneurship MGMT 360 Business Conditions Analysis
Russ Fields | Adjunct Professor | Faculty of Management | russ.fields@ubc.ca | 250.807.9462 | EME 4159
Sarah Gumpinger | Lecturer | Faculty of Management | sarah.gumpinger@ubc.ca
Dayl Hancock | Academic Programs Coordinator | Faculty of Management | dayl.hancock@ubc.ca | 250.807.9167 | EME 4147
Ross Hickey (On Leave) | Associate Professor | Economics, Faculty of Management | ross.hickey@ubc.ca | 250.807.8653
Research Interests: Public finance and political economy; fiscal policy (government expenditure and taxation) and how it is influenced by interactions within a hierarchy of governments (municipal, provincial and federal); elections; lobbying activity.
Courses & Teaching: Public finance; empirical economics; macroeconomics. Specifically: ECON 327 - Introduction to Empirical Methods; ECON 328 - Methods of Empirical Research; ECON 102 - Principals of Macroeconomics.
Sandy Hilton | Senior Instructor | Faculty of Management | sandy.hilton@ubc.ca | 250.807.8254 | EME 4139
Matt Husain | Postdoctoral Research Fellow | Faculty of Management | matt.husain@ubc.ca
Romi Jain | Postdoctoral Research Fellow | Faculty of Management | romi.jain@ubc.ca | EME 4101
Annamma Joy | Professor | Faculty of Management | annamma.joy@ubc.ca | 250.807.8533 | EME 4129
Courses & Teaching: Undergraduate Courses: MGMT 440 Brands, Culture and Marketing MGMT 442 Consumer Behavior Graduate Courses: Brand Management (PhD) Consumer Culture Theory (PhD)
Andrea Klassen | Academic Advisor – Faculty of Management Specialist | Faculty of Management | andrea.klassen@ubc.ca | 250.807.8566 | UNC 2071
Eric Li | Associate Professor | Faculty of Management | eric.li@ubc.ca | 250.807.8853 | EME 4125

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Consumer culture; Social Innovation and social enterprise, Healthy living and well-being; Food consumption and food security; Digital economy, Internet of Things (IoT) and Internet of People (IoP); social media marketing and consumption, ethical consumerism and prosocial behaviour, corporate philanthropy, Fashion marketing and consumption.
Courses & Teaching: MGMT220/320 Introduction to Marketing (undergraduate-level) MGMT441 Marketing Strategy (undergraduate-level) MGMT444 Marketing Research (undergraduate-level) MGMT495 Directed Studies on Fashion Advertising (2012), Digital Consumption and Marketing (2013), Fashion and Cultural Heritage (2014), Family Identity and Consumption (2018) IGS515 Qualitative Methods for Management Research (graduate-level) IGS520A Special Topics on Digital Marketing and Consumption (graduate-level) IGS524 Applied Research Methods (graduate-level)
Mandy Little | Co-op Administrative Assistant | Faculty of Management, Interdisciplinary Co-op Education | mandy.little@ubc.ca | 250.807.9623 | EME 4145
Cynthia Mandelbaum | Associate Director, Industry Partnership & Alumni Development | Faculty of Management | cynthia.mandelbaum@ubc.ca | 250.807.8102 | EME 4145B
Barb Marcolin | Associate Professor | Faculty of Management | barb.marcolin@ubc.ca | 250.807.9637 | EME 4113

Graduate student supervisor


Courses & Teaching: Undergraduate Courses: MGMT 250 Introduction to IT Management MGMT 360 Business Conditions Analysis MGMT 425 Strategic Entrepreneurial Technology
Jana Martin | Lecturer | Faculty of Management | jana.martin@ubc.ca | 250.807.9462 | EME 4101/4161
Malida Mooken | Lecturer | Faculty of Management | malida.mooken@ubc.ca | 250.807.9462 | EME 4141
Nathan Pelletier | Assistant Professor | Biology, Faculty of Management | nathan.pelletier@ubc.ca | 250.807.8245 | FIP 340

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Sustainability measurement and management; life cycle thinking; environmental and social life cycle assessment of food, feed and biomass supply chains; resource efficiency; social license and market access; trade-based externalization of environmental and social risk.
Courses & Teaching: Sustainable food systems; sustainability measurement and management; ecological economics.
Jacques-Olivier Pesme | Director, Wine Research Centre | Faculty of Management | jo.pesme@ubc.ca
Monic Pratch | Sessional Lecturer | Faculty of Management | monic.pratch@ubc.ca | 250.807.9462 | EME 4101/4161
Courses & Teaching: MGMT 480 Law and Business
Darryl Reed | Professor | Faculty of Management | darryl.reed@ubc.ca
Meghan Reid | Co-op & Career Coordinator | Faculty of Management, Interdisciplinary Co-op Education | meghan.reid@ubc.ca | 250.807.8235 | EME 4157
Stacey Sandison | Adjunct Professor | Faculty of Management | stacey.sandison@ubc.ca
Sumeet Kaur Sekhon | Postdoctoral Research Fellow | Faculty of Management | sumeet.sekhon@ubc.ca | EME 4101
Jamie Snow | Associate Director, Community Relations | Faculty of Management | jamie.snow@ubc.ca | 250.807.9206 | EME 4139
Roger Sugden | Dean; Professor | Faculty of Management | roger.sugden@ubc.ca | 250.807.9462 | EME 4145
Marcela Valania | Research Associate and Sessional Lecturer | Faculty of Management | marcela.valania@ubc.ca | EME 4141
Patrick Vanderburg | Operations and Faculty Assistant | Faculty of Management | patrick.vanderburg@ubc.ca | 250.807.8462 | EME 4145
Paula Verholen | Partner Engagement Advisor | Faculty of Management, Interdisciplinary Co-op Education | paula.verholen@ubc.ca | 250.807.8243 | EME 4157
David Walker | Assistant Professor | Faculty of Management | david.walker@ubc.ca | 250.807.9801 | EME 4105
Courses & Teaching: Undergraduate Courses: MGMT 330 Organizational Behaviour MGMT 411 Human Resource Management MGMT 419k Special Topics in Management – Service Human Resource Management Graduate Courses: MGMT 530 Organizational Behaviour MGMT 533 Human Resources
Norine Webster | Lecturer | Faculty of Management | norine.webster@ubc.ca | 250.807.8847 | EME 4109
Sheila Westwell | Lecturer | Faculty of Management | sheila.westwell@ubc.ca | 250.807.9462 | EME 4121
Ying Zhu | Assistant Professor (Tenure) | Faculty of Management | ying.zhu@ubc.ca | 250.807.9836 | EME 4131
Research Interests: Dr. Zhu’s primary research interests include digital marketing, branding, consumer behavior, business analytics, and social networks. She has two streams of research: 1) examining the effectiveness of different marketing strategies (e.g., digital marketing, business networks) and the importance of branding (e.g., brand extension) and 2) investigating the impact of technology on consumers and the antecedents and consequences of consumer use of technology (e.g., smartphone addiction).
Nikki Zwaagstra | Reception & Administrative Assistant | Faculty of Management | nikki.zwaagstra@ubc.ca | 250.807.8869 | EME 4145